Go Back   I-Mockery Forum > I-Mockery Discussion Forums > Philosophy, Politics, and News
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Mocker
El Blanco is probably a spambot
Old Jan 31st, 2006, 08:03 PM        Investing
While I love reading people bitch and moan and do the same song and dance on how the neo-cons are evil and how libs are evil, I actually want some plain old information.

How do you guys invest?

Me, I started a Roth IRA (I'm in my late 20s so this seemed like a good option for me). The maximum is 4k a year, but I doubt I'll even reach that unless I hit an upswing sometime soon. I'm an independant contractor, so a 401(k) would be great, but not happening right now.

I'm also hoping to buy a house by the end of the year. A modest 2 family deal so I can get someone else to pay my mortgage(most of it atleast) while I build equity.

So, what do you guys have and why?

I don't need to know exact details. Infact, its a good idea to keep it as general as possible. I just want to know whats out there and what would work for me.
Mocker
ziggytrix is probably a spambot
Old Jan 31st, 2006, 09:36 PM       
Well, if you aren't making enough to put much into stocks or savings bonds, but aren't afraid of the responsibility of owning property, buying a house is the way to go! Rent is for SUCKERS.

I can't say I'd wanna jump right into the landlord game (and I only saw about 15 minutes of Pacific Heights) - and certainly not want to share a wall with my renters, but having someone susidize your house payments must be nice. Just don't count on it in your budget til you know you have a stable renter.

Other than my house, my only real investment is a crappy low-yield savings account.
Mocker
ScruU2wice is probably a spambot
Old Jan 31st, 2006, 10:50 PM       
One of the people that came to our store worked for a wholesale mortgage company, and he told me that basically the most steady way to go was to invest in stocks.