Go Back   I-Mockery Forum > I-Mockery Miscellaneous Forums > Questions, Suggestions, and Tech Support
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #26  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Mar 30th, 2005, 10:01 PM       
oh and he can't use that video card b/c his motherboard only goes up to 4x and that's a 8
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Rongi Rongi is offline
NEW FACE IN HELL
Rongi's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: POOF
Old Mar 30th, 2005, 10:07 PM       
__________________
ill fuck that bitch so hard in 10 years she'll crack her back and remember my dick - kahljorn
Reply With Quote
  #28  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Mar 30th, 2005, 10:10 PM       
oh wait in the description it looks like you CAN use it wit a 4x :/
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Alive Alive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Michigan
Old Mar 30th, 2005, 10:59 PM       
Yeah it should step down to 4x. most are backwards compatable like certain ram is. building your own is usualy your best bet for getting more out of it. i go to the monthly computer show in my area and im always picking up killer deals. 600 bucks spent in the right place can yeild one kick ass system. nothing like what you would get out of the box. dont pay nobody 50/hr. building computers is easy and fun. then you can start charging 50/hr. (or more )
__________________
Im "Alive" im "pro-not buried" im "anti-not breathing"...ect...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Mar 30th, 2005, 11:08 PM       
but what if the power supply explodes and you ruin your cousins brand new motherboard and processor and video card
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #31  
ziggytrix ziggytrix is offline
Mocker
ziggytrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: i come from the water
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 09:25 AM       
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoreable
for gaming i would recommend more than that aiw card. unless you plan on using the tv tuner and crap you can get another card that is much faster for the same price.

something like this would blow it away in games.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-362&depa=1

There's a few problems. He won't be able to fully utilize the card since, as Willie mentioned, he's only got a 4X AGP slot. Second, the core speed on the Sapphire is about 140MHz slower. Third, I don't see anything that indicates dual head support on there, but then again, I'm not sure how important using two monitors was to Rongi.
__________________
BOYCOTT SIGNATURES!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 10:30 AM       
Quote:
He won't be able to fully utilize the card since, as Willie mentioned, he's only got a 4X AGP slot.
The difference between AGP 4X and 8X is marginal at best. A 9800 would have almost exactly the same performance on a 4X slot compared to 8X.

Quote:
Second, the core speed on the Sapphire is about 140MHz slower.
uhh, slower than what? That card has the standard 9800pro core and memory frequencies and the 256bit memory interface (as opposed to some saphire cards which only have a 128bit interface).


Quote:
Third, I don't see anything that indicates dual head support on there
Well you can actually see on the card the other monitor plug. To use two monitors you simply plug an adaptor into the DVI port on the card and it converts it to a standard monitor connection.

I have almost exactly the same card (but made by Connect3D) and would highly recomend it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
  #33  
whoreable whoreable is offline
Mocker
whoreable's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 10:38 AM       
I agree. The only thing I would be concerned about is how much power the 9800 takes, then again changing out a power supply is quick and easy!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
ArrowX ArrowX is offline
Banned
ArrowX's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Illinois, Alberta, Canada, Thailand, Space, Groundling Marsh, Manhattan, Man Hat Ton
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 10:53 AM       
What Processor are you Running?

I have an overclocked PII i should really look into updaterin
20BG HDD
56xMAX cd drive (I shit you not)
I don't quite remember the make but it runs on the Ragefury pro chipset.

If I had a time machine my comp would be god
Reply With Quote
  #35  
ziggytrix ziggytrix is offline
Mocker
ziggytrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: i come from the water
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 11:57 AM       
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalMilitia
Quote:
Second, the core speed on the Sapphire is about 140MHz slower.
uhh, slower than what? That card has the standard 9800pro core and memory frequencies and the 256bit memory interface (as opposed to some saphire cards which only have a 128bit interface).
Chipset/Core Speed: ATI RADEON 9800 PRO/380MHz
vs.
Chipset/Core Speed: ATI RADEON 9600XT/525MHz

That's the GPU clock speed.

But I don't know enough about graphics to say that this clock speed really matters. I'm glad you pointed out the difference in memory buses tho. The 9600 only has a 128 bit memory bus, so if I understand correctly, it can process 128 bits faster than the 9800 can process 256 bits. Since it's not at least twice as fast, then the 9800 actually has the higher throughput by a little bit.

Quote:
Quote:
Third, I don't see anything that indicates dual head support on there
Well you can actually see on the card the other monitor plug. To use two monitors you simply plug an adaptor into the DVI port on the card and it converts it to a standard monitor connection.

I have almost exactly the same card (but made by Connect3D) and would highly recomend it.
Yeah, but will that enable multiple desktops or just the same output on two screens? I'm glad someone else is weighing in on this though cuz my knowledge of hardware is certainly not expert level.

Also, I don't know enough about the brands, but getting an actual ATI card vs. a knock-off makes a difference. I know I haven't been thrilled with my Chaintech card, and wish I'd spend the 40 extra bucks to get a more recognized brand. If Saphire has a good rep tho, I'd prolly change my recommendation to that.
__________________
BOYCOTT SIGNATURES!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Rongi Rongi is offline
NEW FACE IN HELL
Rongi's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: POOF
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 03:34 PM       
great now i dont know WHAT to get

i wont cry over not being able to do dual monitors. it's more of luxory than a neccesity to me.
__________________
ill fuck that bitch so hard in 10 years she'll crack her back and remember my dick - kahljorn
Reply With Quote
  #37  
ziggytrix ziggytrix is offline
Mocker
ziggytrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: i come from the water
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 03:54 PM       
Well, MM has a dual monitor setup, and says he has basically the same card, so I'd trust him if he said it works, you'll just have to buy a little adaptor for your second monitor, assuming it uses a "regular" monitor cable.
__________________
BOYCOTT SIGNATURES!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 05:56 PM       
The card will almost certainly come with an adaptor.

When comparing a 9800pro VS 9600XT there is really no contest...

http://www.guru3d.com/article/content/117/8/

Lots of benchmarks to be seen there and all show more or less the same thing; 9800pro >= 9600XT.

As for the made my ATI vs 3rd part manufacturers there is really no difference. The cards are always essentially the same but often have varying cooling solutions. Sometimes 3rd party manufacturers provide a better HSF but its always good to read a review first and make sure that its not worse than the default one.

Some companies such as Gainward provide additonal functionality in their cards, for example they marketed a watercooled 5900U a while ago.
Their cards commonly have higher clocked memory/core but at a slightly higher price point.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
  #39  
ziggytrix ziggytrix is offline
Mocker
ziggytrix's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: i come from the water
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 06:13 PM       
I'll respectfully disagree with the name brand vs generic argument, but I can't really prove that they're using cheaper RAM modules or whatever.
__________________
BOYCOTT SIGNATURES!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
whoreable whoreable is offline
Mocker
whoreable's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Mar 31st, 2005, 09:24 PM       
some third party cards do use slower memory and some 9800s have the 128bit bus instead of 256. As long as the speeds are the same as the retail you should face too many issues.

Generally the thrid party cards are just as good- all things being equal of course.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

   


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


© 2008 I-Mockery.com
Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.