Go Back   I-Mockery Forum > I-Mockery Miscellaneous Forums > Questions, Suggestions, and Tech Support
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 05:49 AM        Fix this NOW. No bullshit, just fucking help me.
I'm not interested in any bullshit. I've been trying to figure this out for 3 days now, and I NEED answers. I don't need any shit, understand? Help now, and save the shit for something/someone else.

I'll do my best to explain this:

Before, when I wanted to play a video file from a URL (instead of saving it to my hard drive), a download window would show up, showing me how large the file was, how fast I was copying the file, how much longer until it was finished, etc., and when it was finished, Windows Media Player would then open up and play the video.

Now, when clicking a URL, it automatically opens WMP, and WMP just hangs there with the message "connecting..." at the bottom.

How can I change it, so that clicking a video URL will bring up that download window?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Anonymous Anonymous is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 06:16 AM       
Try going to tools -> internet options -> advanced -> restore defaults and see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
AChimp AChimp is offline
Resident Chimp
AChimp's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: The Jungles of Borneo
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 08:46 AM       
You can also right-click on the links and Save Target As..., but then you have to open the files yourself.

Some servers let you stream the WMV right from them, too, which is why Media Player opens right away rather than downloading the whole file first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 10:38 AM       
Did you change anything inbetween it working and it not working?

You could try installing K-lite codec pack
(http://www.codecsdownload.com/cgi-bi...d.pl?file=0126)

Or reinstalling Media player 10/IE 6
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 04:00 PM       
Tried restoring defaults. NO.
Download each individual video files I ever come across. NO.
Just .wmv files. NO.
Reinstalled Windows Media Player 9. NO.
It won't let me reinstall IE, saying a newer version is already installed. I tried to remove it from the add/remove menu, but it still wouldn't do it. TELL ME HOW TO REINSTALL IE.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 04:09 PM       
did you try the codec pack?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
EisigerBiskuit EisigerBiskuit is offline
Keg Whore
EisigerBiskuit's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OPE DE DOOH'
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 04:31 PM       
Get Foxfire. THis is the problem which pretty much got me to switch. That and the constant porn adware
Reply With Quote
  #8  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 04:54 PM       
Yeah, I've had K-Lite, and I did reinstall it. That didn't help either.

I'd reinstall IE if I could, but it looks like I'd have to go into my registry to remove certain items, which is pretty gay.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 04:55 PM       
Get Firefox. Its much better than IE anyway.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
  #10  
EisigerBiskuit EisigerBiskuit is offline
Keg Whore
EisigerBiskuit's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OPE DE DOOH'
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 05:46 PM       
or if you are not lazy you could right click > save as
Reply With Quote
  #11  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 06:37 PM       
Quote:
Originally Posted by EisigerBiskuit
or if you are not lazy you could right click > save as
I really wish someone would stab you repeatedly. Such a shame it can't be me, but I KNOW that a worthless cunt like you is gonna get fucked up one of these days.

Anyway, the Firefox/IE issue is for babies. Yes, I will be using Firefox, once I get situated with it. Yes, FireFox is probably better than IE. However, the problem could still exist there, and the problem will still exist with IE. RUNNING AWAY FROM A PROBLEM DOES NOT FIX IT.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
EisigerBiskuit EisigerBiskuit is offline
Keg Whore
EisigerBiskuit's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OPE DE DOOH'
Old Sep 14th, 2004, 06:41 PM       
the reason I got stabbed is mostly because I can't find a better way to explain since, Foxfire is way different.
I mean, one way you could try manually saving to disk a huge file. I don't know if it's down there, but it usually says Ask to Save Disk Whenever or something
Reply With Quote
  #13  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 15th, 2004, 02:25 AM       
Reinstalled Windows. Problem still exists.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Anonymous Anonymous is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Old Sep 15th, 2004, 03:20 AM       
Would banning eisigerbiskuit for real help this problem any, you think?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 15th, 2004, 03:49 AM       
I'd be more than willing to try it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Sep 15th, 2004, 10:03 PM       
service pack 2
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #17  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 19th, 2004, 12:05 AM       
As in, SP2 is the problem, or SP2 is a option to fix it?

Because I HAVE SP2.

So far, no suggestions have worked. :/
Reply With Quote
  #18  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Sep 20th, 2004, 02:25 AM       
sp2 is the cause, man

it was doing the same thing for me, and still is, sort of if you've got a firewall and it's set to not allow media player access to the internet, try changing that I know its not what you asked for, but hey at least you'll be able to look at movies maybe
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #19  
whoreable whoreable is offline
Mocker
whoreable's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 20th, 2004, 10:40 AM       
yea why not disable firewall all together?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 26th, 2004, 10:02 AM       
Quote:
Originally Posted by executioneer
sp2 is the cause, man

it was doing the same thing for me, and still is, sort of if you've got a firewall and it's set to not allow media player access to the internet, try changing that I know its not what you asked for, but hey at least you'll be able to look at movies maybe
k, your wording confuses me. I CAN look at movies, but clicking a link automatically opens WMP, instead of showing a download (copying to Temp Files) window. It does this for everything else I've tried, except for WMP.

I don't see any settings that you're talking about. What would that do anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
executioneer executioneer is offline
OH GOD
executioneer's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2001
Old Sep 26th, 2004, 10:13 AM       
nevermind the problem is caused by sp2 and i do not know how to fix it apart from uninstalling f*ckin microsoft
__________________
[COLOR=purple][COLOR=Magenta]SHAME ON A [COLOR=Pink]NIGGA WHO TRY TO RUN [/COLOR][URL="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVGI6mhfJyA"]GAME[/URL] ON A NIGGA[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #22  
whoreable whoreable is offline
Mocker
whoreable's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 26th, 2004, 10:40 AM       
try goign to control panel and windows firewall, and turn it off.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
whoreable whoreable is offline
Mocker
whoreable's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 26th, 2004, 10:42 AM       
nevermind, i didnt read everything sorry guys!

james try changing wmv files not to associate with wmp go to tools>options>filetypes tab, uncheck the format.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
James James is offline
Mocker
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Old Sep 29th, 2004, 06:59 AM       
It's not just .wmv this is happening with, though.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
MetalMilitia MetalMilitia is offline
Hitler's Canoe!
MetalMilitia's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Old Sep 29th, 2004, 10:43 AM       
Its probably caused by one of microsofts new security features. For example mabey they have found that it is possible for a virus or malicious program to enter your computer via streaming .wmv files.
My advice would be to remove SP2 (provided you archived old files so it can be removed) then redownload it in a couple of months when its problems have been worked out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtimecow View Post
japan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

   


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


© 2008 I-Mockery.com
Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.